Author Topic: Is it possible to complete I-V curve calculation by restarting from a checkpoint  (Read 5554 times)

Offline Jin-Kyu Choi

• Regular QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Hello, I'm Jin-Kyu Choi from Korea.
Because I'm a just beginner, so I would like to ask some simple and basic questions.
I would like to ask two questions.

1. As I learned from the Manual and Tutorial on the Quantumwise web, it seems be possible to specify the name, saving path, and saving time-interval of the checkpointfile. Could you let me know how to specify those things in the script file (*.py) ?

2. Because now I'm running the ATK program in a PC with a free license to practice utilization of it, computing resouces such as memory are not sufficient to complete some calculations like I-V curve for a metal-molecule-metal device (in a little big system, I usually get an error message for memory decifiency). So I want to ask that "is it possible to complete I-V curve calculation by restarting from a checkpoint file?".

Thank you for your kind reply.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2011, 08:46 by Jin-Kyu Choi »

Offline Anders Blom

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
    • QuantumATK at Synopsys
Dear Jin-Kyu, a detailed description of how to control the checkpoint file can be found in the manual, and just this week we also published a small tutorial on the subject: http://quantumwise.com/publications/tutorials/mini-tutorials/142 There is a basic tutorial on I-V curves here: http://quantumwise.com/publications/tutorials/mini-tutorials/98 If the system is large, to put each bias point in a separate NC file (not really checkpoint file). For this you should change the "nlsave" statement to make a new file for each bias:
Code: python
nlsave("lih2li_iv_scf_bias_%g.nc" % voltage.inUnitsOf(Volt), device_configuration)