Author Topic: how i put a one-by-one calculation in a *.py file  (Read 2026 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline njuxyh

  • QuantumATK Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 163
  • Reputation: 0
    • View Profile
i want do a complete calculation  for a two-probe system.

first: relax.
second: scf with initial spin
third:    calculate mulliken population and  spin-polarized transmission spectrum

so the working follows: see the attachment.

it is right?

Offline kstokbro

  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
  • *****
  • Posts: 392
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • QuantumWise
Re: how i put a one-by-one calculation in a *.py file
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 07:09 »
This looks correct for doing what you suggest.
However, wouldn't you like to setup the correct initial spin for the relaxation also? In this case the initial state should be before optimization

Offline njuxyh

  • QuantumATK Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 163
  • Reputation: 0
    • View Profile
Re: how i put a one-by-one calculation in a *.py file
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 10:22 »
i assume that the geometry configuration is not influenced by the spin, so i put the initial spin setup after the geometry relax.

i have  several related question about the work flowing: 

if i do a relaxing calculation without spin , so in the first New Calculator button,i set the spin  is unpolarized. 
then i do a scf calculation with spin. should i put a New Calculator button once again after Optimization button. so i can reset some parameters related spin ?


Offline zh

  • QuantumATK Support
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
  • *****
  • Posts: 1141
  • Reputation: 24
    • View Profile
Re: how i put a one-by-one calculation in a *.py file
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 13:06 »
i have  several related question about the work flowing: 

if i do a relaxing calculation without spin , so in the first New Calculator button,i set the spin  is unpolarized. 
then i do a scf calculation with spin. should i put a New Calculator button once again after Optimization button. so i can reset some parameters related spin ?

Of course, you can do that way. However, you have to check the part of defining the initial state  in the generated script file, e.g.,
# -------------------------------------------------------------
# Initial State
# -------------------------------------------------------------
initial_spin = InitialSpin(scaled_spins=[.....])
device_configuration.setCalculator(
    calculator,
    initial_spin=initial_spin,
)

It is better to adjust the above part  to be just before "device_configuration.update()".