Author Topic: Determining Bandgap  (Read 9204 times)

Offline Arya

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Determining Bandgap
« on: November 12, 2013, 01:40 »
Hi All,

I am new to ATK. I was trying to study effect of edge defects on bandstructure of graphene nanoribbon.
The way I proceed is to make an armchair GNR and repeat it for desired width along C direction. Then delete some edge atoms and setup bandstructure analysis.

Plotting the bandstructure I see a band near fermi level (attached image). I see gaps between the bands above as well as below the band near fermi level. This leaves me with the question where actually is the bandgap in this bandstructure (There are multiple places which seem devoid of any bands)? Any help is appreciated :)

Thanks,
-Arya

Offline Dipankar Saha

• Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
Re: Determining Bandgap
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2013, 13:51 »
It is quite obvious..., the kind of band diagram that you have got for a super cell having large no. of atoms..../ I guess, BG illustrates the property of any material....and, for that a unit cell of it (for example, which may be 4-AGNR, or may be a 6-ZGNR...etc. )should be sufficient.../ But, the issue is...when we have to find the effects of any scattering (due to any of the reasons.../say, Line edge roughness) on the electrical properties of a  nano ribbon or sheet... then Trans. Spectrum should be the right analysis to do, rather than the BG..... 
« Last Edit: November 12, 2013, 13:56 by Dipankar Saha »

Offline Anders Blom

• QuantumATK Staff
    • View Profile
    • QuantumATK at Synopsys
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, 14:25 »
This result can also be caused by not having edge termination (hydrogen atoms), so the band you see at the Fermi level could be a numerical artifact.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2013, 14:28 by Anders Blom »

Offline Arya

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2013, 17:25 »