Author Topic: Molecular Dynamics for Devices and Boundary Conditions  (Read 812 times)

Offline jalmeida

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Dear,

It is my first time trying to do Molecular Dynamics (MD) simulation and I have some questions that I did not find in details in the documentation and in the forum.

Please, Does ATK use always periodic boundary conditions in MD simulations, even for finite systems, e.g. molecules?

I tried to use MD for a device, so the electrodes and electrode repetitions are fixed automatically, right? Some atoms is going outside of the cell!

Is it better keep just the scattering region in a bulk configuration? Does cell size change in MD?

How can I choose a suitable unit cell? Should I increase the cell and keep the scattering region centralized or use a supercelll with the ATK tool "repeat cell" in all directions?

Thanks in advance  :)

Offline Anders Blom

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
    • QuantumATK at Synopsys
Re: Molecular Dynamics for Devices and Boundary Conditions
« Reply #1 on: February 9, 2024, 23:04 »
I'll be rather brief, maybe you have follow-up questions after that.

Yes, we always use periodic boundary conditions in MD, although you can of course have vacuum around a structure like a CNT etc; since the range of interatomic forces in classical potentials is usually quite short (electrostatic forces may have longer range) this effectively makes the system 1D.

For devices, however, since the electrodes and their repetitions (more correctly, the electrode extension) are indeed always fixed, it's sort of not periodic in Z, since the atoms cannot move there. Not sure what you observe about atoms leaving the cell, you'd have to show an example.