Author Topic: Transition Energy of Defect Center  (Read 2784 times)

ANUQO

Transition Energy of Defect Center
« on: November 25, 2016, 05:26 »
Hi all,

I am new to ATK and have the following question:
If a defect center is introduced into a monolayer material one gets typically sub-bandgap states which, in an experiment, can then be measured by Photoluminescence. I would like to calculate which possible transition energies are possible in that system. What would be the best way to do that?

I've started by creating a large nanosheet of hexagonal Boron Nitride and then removed one N atom to introduce a vacancy (just as an example). What I know how to do is calculating the total energy for the system with and without the defect like in the tutorials, but that shouldn't be what I'm looking for (this way I get the formation energy), correct?

Could someone please outline a way how to handle this problem? Also, is there a possibility to calculate the state lifetime?

Thank you very much in advance!

Best regards,
Tobias

Offline Ulrik G. Vej-Hansen

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
Re: Transition Energy of Defect Center
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2016, 13:36 »
You are right that comparing the total energies will give you the formation energy of the defect and not the transition energies you are looking for.

Also, just to be sure - could you take a look at equation 3, and nearby text, in this reference and tell us if this is what you are thinking of when you mention transition energies?

First-principles calculations for point defects in solids
Christoph Freysoldt, Blazej Grabowski, Tilmann Hickel, Jörg Neugebauer, Georg Kresse, Anderson Janotti, and Chris G. Van de Walle
Rev. Mod. Phys. 86, 253 – Published 28 March 2014

ANUQO

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2016, 21:38 »
Thank you very much for the fast reply, but no, that is not what I am looking for. Sorry, I probably have stated my problem unclear.