Author Topic: Overlapping issue on mxene nanoribbon  (Read 1987 times)

Offline khariyahA

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Overlapping issue on mxene nanoribbon
« on: June 5, 2022, 03:28 »
Hi everyone, I really need help, im having issue about overlapping.
Im currently studying about mxene nanoribbon, Ti2CO2. To form Ti2CO2 nanoribbon, i tried to build it separately, which first i build C-Ti nanoribbon and then C-O nanoribbon. After that, i drag C-Ti nanoribbon onto C-O nanoribbon. The structure will look like below.

Before i proceed for running, there is prompt appears saying some atoms overlap and some atoms closer. Sir, is there any way for me to solve this overlap issue ? I want to produce bandstructure.

I really appreciate if you can help me on this.

Offline Anders Blom

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
    • QuantumATK at Synopsys
Re: Overlapping issue on mxene nanoribbon
« Reply #1 on: June 8, 2022, 07:58 »
I guess you need to separate the layers in the X direction?

Offline khariyahA

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 8, 2022, 09:30 »
Thankyou so much Dr Blom for your reply   :)

Dr Blom, can you explain further how to separate the layers ?
If i separate the layers, it will become 2 different layers and will not form the intended material.

Offline Anders Blom

• QuantumATK Staff
    • View Profile
    • QuantumATK at Synopsys
« Reply #3 on: June 8, 2022, 09:58 »
Well, the layers are surely not supposed to be on top of each other, as they probably are now (same x-coordinate for all atoms)? So you will need to select the atoms in one layer, make a translation of say 2 Å up or down to make a bi-layer structure. Or, if that is not what you want, some other transformation that brings the system to correct form.

Offline khariyahA

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 8, 2022, 10:59 »