Author Topic: magnetic tunnel junction  (Read 12007 times)

Offline sahil

• Regular QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
magnetic tunnel junction
« on: January 6, 2012, 06:53 »
Hiiii i am new to atk vnl.. i am working on the cofeb/mgo/cofeb magneto tunnel junction for this purpose i made the structure using replacing the fe atom with co and at the interface with mgo i attach single boron atom but due to this the bond between the boron and other atom(fe or co) was borken hence i reduce the distance (2.177A) as shown in fig 1.
then i optimize the bulk structure with forces and stress .05. which takes a long time. i select my k point 6,6,3 for this optimization. and for better convergence i kept electron temp 1200K.
but i have following doubt  ??? ???
1> is it a correct structure?
2> i am facing the problem with convergence in the optimization process as below...
# Warning: The calculation did not converge to the requested tolerance!        #

how could i handle this..
3> now after optimization and during the parallel and anti-parallel confg how may i decide the electrode length in device configuration?

4> and at last how to study about Mulliken population and k-parallel and antiparallel transmission curve for majority and minority spin..

5>How can i make my calculation faster with rough result?
please tell me any one.....  :-\
« Last Edit: January 6, 2012, 12:14 by sahil »

Offline Anders Blom

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
    • QuantumATK at Synopsys
Re: magnetic tunnel junction
« Reply #1 on: January 7, 2012, 00:00 »
Your procedure seems reasonable, and since you do optimize it, the initial structure doesn't have to be perfect. The convergence problems may be because of too low mesh cut-off, Fe needs a higher value than default (try to double it, at least). 6x6 is also on the low side for the k-points.