Author Topic: Can someone give me ideas on how to make a basic FDSOI device?  (Read 4377 times)

Offline yang su

• Regular QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,

I am a PhD student and I am pretty new to this software. My research involves mainly device simulations and I wish I can start with the most basic device like FDSOIs. I have gone through the builder tutorial but none of them talks about devices so I am totally puzzled. Can you please give me some ideas on how to make the device or are there any tutorials regarding that? I am pretty new and so no background of me can be expected. I am currently using the GUI mode in windows now. Thank you very much.

Offline mads.engelund

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
The builder tutorials gives a good impression of what can be built in our software.
http://www.quantumwise.com/publications/tutorials/builder/

Full device simulations like the one you are talking about, cannot realisticly be calculated in ATK due to the large number of atoms.
Interface resistance, tunneling across layers, small model devices, are things we can do :)

Offline yang su

• View Profile
Re: Can someone give me ideas on how to make a basic FDSOI device?
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 00:29 »
Thank you very much but I am building a 2-D but 3 terminal device. Is that possible if only hundreds of  atoms are involved? If so, can I get some information about making channel and contact interface and how can I specify the 3 terminals I need? Thank you.

Offline mads.engelund

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2012, 09:16 »
You are right, the number of atoms is no problem in that case.
But unfortunately ATK can't do 3-terminal devices yet. And the two terminals must be straight ahead of each other.

It is, however, possible to add gates to a two-terminal device. You can add continuum regions at a fixed potential. These can be added in using the Builder > Michellaneous > Spatial Regions.