Author Topic: Problem in using band structure analyzer tool of virtual nano lab  (Read 3833 times)

Offline adil

• New QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Hello every one!,
I am using Quantum espresso with  virtual nano lab as GUI. As a beginner, I am following the  tutorial of silicon which has been provided on virtual nano lab website (http://quantumwise.com/publications/tutorials/item/875-virtual-nanolab-as-gui-for-quantum-espresso).
I have achieved the scf calculation for silicon and have analyzed the results using VNL. But when I tried to do band structure calculations and tried  to analyze it using band structure analyzer of VNL, I am facing with the error

"Error in reading QuantumEspresso band structure energies"

I could not resolve this issue.
Plz help me in this regard.

Offline Jess Wellendorff

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
Did you set the verbosity level to 'high' in the quantum espresso input file for generating the bandstructure? If not, you will need to do so, in order to make espresso print all the required band energies to the output file.

Offline adil

• New QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Yes I set the verbosity level to 'high'. but I am still facing the same problem.
here is the detail  of the error shown by the VNL message box

"
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File ".\zipdir\NL\GUI\MainWindow\LabFloor\LabFloorModel.py", line 239, in load
  File "C:\Program Files (x86)\QuantumWise\VNL-ATK-2015.1\Lib\site-packages\AddOns\QuantumEspressoPlugins\OutputFilters\OutputLabFloorPlugin.py", line 116, in load
    data = readBandstructure(filename)
  File "C:\Program Files (x86)\QuantumWise\VNL-ATK-2015.1\Lib\site-packages\AddOns\QuantumEspressoPlugins\OutputFilters\BandstructureReader.py", line 116, in readBandstructure
    eigenvalues_up = readEigenvalueSection(f, number_of_kpoints)