Author Topic: Is Dynamical matrix and Hamiltonian Derivative Independent of Spatial region  (Read 2708 times)

Offline weixiang

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Hi,
I am calculating the InelasticTransmissionSpectrum for a defective GNR device which requires DynamicalMatrix and HamiltonianDerivative calculated first.
I am wondering if the  Dynamical matrix and Hamiltonian Derivative calculation are independent of the spatial region? i.e. For the same device configuration with different Gate voltage on the metallic region, do I need to calculate the  Dynamical matrix and Hamiltonian Derivative differently?   Or I can use the  Dynamical matrix and Hamiltonian Derivative calculated at one gate voltage for all other gate voltage.
I am studying the transfer characteristics of the device, so I need to calculate the inelastic current of the device at different gate voltage.

Thank you!

Offline Petr Khomyakov

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
Please take a look at this tutorial, https://docs.quantumatk.com/tutorials/inelastic_current_in_si_pn_junction/inelastic_current_in_si_pn_junction.html. There are different options in doing these calculations, e.g., "Using the bulk dynamical matrix and Hamiltonian derivatives" as discussed in the tutorial. 

Offline weixiang

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Thank you for the reply!
I have read about this tutorial case study. The use of bulk dynamical matrix and bulk Hamiltonian derivatives does help for reducing the calculation time. But it only valid for a homogenous device configuration as I understand.
 The device that I am studying have defects in the scattering region, i.e. it is not homogenous along the c direction. Therefore I will need to calculate the dynamical matrix and Hamiltonian derivatives for the whole device instead of its bulk configuration, in order for calculating the inelasticTransmissionSpectrum.