Author Topic: Effect of electron-phonon scattering in electron transport process  (Read 3778 times)

Offline weixiang

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
Hello experts,
I am studying the e-ph interaction effect in graphene nanoribbon transistor device, and I have read through some Quantumwise case study page https://docs.quantumwise.com/tutorials/inelastic_current_in_si_pn_junction/inelastic_current_in_si_pn_junction.html
as well as the STD  case study for Si p-n junction in paper Phys. Rev. B 96, 161404(R). I got the idea that phonon will have the positive effect that increases the off-state current by several magnitudes (the phonon-assisted tunneling), while unchanging the on state current.
However other papers speak otherwise. In paper  PhysRevB.80.155430, they studied Si nanowire and their simulation shows an opposite result that the off-state current is rather unchanged, but the on-state current is reduced because of the phonon scattering. Some other paper also indicates so. For example in a paper named " Role of phonon scattering in graphene nanoribbon transistors: Nonequilibrium Green’s function method with real space approach" They also give a similar result for GNR transistor.

I just wonder why does the STD method give an opposite result than others? Is there anything that I misunderstand here?

Thanks!

Offline weixiang

• Heavy QuantumATK user
    • View Profile
I am actually mentioning the difference between the following two figures. In the left figure, the top branch is in log scale and the bottom branch is in linear scale.

Ref: Left PhysRevB.80.155430
         Right Phys. Rev. B 96, 161404(R)

Offline Petr Khomyakov

• QuantumATK Staff
  • Supreme QuantumATK Wizard
    • View Profile
You are comparing studies done for two different material systems: nanowire vs thin film.

Moreover, one study is done using semi-empirical tight-binding model, whereas the other one is based on ab-initio density functional theory.